Trump imposes new Muslim ban

President Trump signed a new travel ban Monday that administration officials said they hope will end legal challenges over the matter by imposing a 90-day ban on the issuance of new visas for citizens of six majority-Muslim nations, authorities said.

In addition, the nation’s refu­gee program will be suspended for 120 days, and it will not accept more than 50,000 refugees in a year, down from the 110,000 cap set by the Obama administration.

The order will not take effect until March 16, officials said.

The new guidelines name six of the seven countries included in the first executive order but leave out Iraq.

The countries affected are: Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen.

The new order replaces the earlier order that had been successfully challenged in US courts.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.